Latta Plantation Kareem Wilson

ImageImage

Going to Latta Plantation wasn’t the most exciting thing that I could have spent my Sunday afternoon, especially since I had just finished a shift at work that began at 4 am. But after going, I came away with a different perspective and outlook on this lush and serene historic landmark. I would first say that the actual place is huge, it seems as though it tools us 20 minutes to get from the road to the end. We then got to experience the lake, the actual plantation grounds, and the rock overlook of the lake. I would say that after seeing the actual plantation house and the grounds, it made me wonder what were conditions like for the people? How were the conditions for the slaves? What was their daily life like? I would say the coolest part was the rock overlooking the lake. It seemed like a great place to kind of get away from everything and gather one’s thoughts and be at peace in nature. Overall, I would say that while I probably didn’t agree at first, going to Latta Plantation on a beautiful Sunday afternoon wasn’t that bad of a trip. ImageImage

Leave a comment